← All guides

Best AI receptionist for missed calls (local service businesses, US & Canada)

Quick answer: If you only miss a few calls, start with a low-cost plan that has a small call allowance, such as Upfirst or Rosie, and forward only missed and after-hours calls to it. If calls are frequent, compare included calls or minutes and overage charges before you pick a plan. Canadian service businesses can look at ReturnCall.ai, which describes itself as built in Canada and prices in CAD. Starting prices and the date each was checked are in the table below.

AI answering services for plumbers, contractors and other local businesses that miss calls: pricing, billing model, Canada availability and a 10-minute setup. Use the matcher for a personalized shortlist.

Comparison

Comparison of the picks, from the PickMyStack tool database
ToolBest forStarting priceBilling modelFree plan / trialCanada availabilityPrice checked
Upfirst affiliateAI receptionist priced by call volume that answers 24/7, books appointments and texts you call summaries$24.95/mo billed monthly (Starter, 30 calls; $20/mo billed annually; USD)Monthly plan with included calls (30 on Starter); extra calls billed per call ($1.50 on Starter); calls under 15 seconds not billedNo free plan; 14-day free trialNot stated on the vendor site; confirm with the vendor2026-10-19
Rosie affiliateAI answering service for small businesses that answers calls, books appointments and texts you the details$49/mo (Professional, 250 minutes; monthly or annual billing; currency not stated on page)Monthly plan with included minutes (250 on Professional)No free plan; 7-day free trialVendor describes a US service; confirm Canadian numbers and callers2026-10-19
GoodcallAI phone agent that answers calls and books appointments$79/mo (Starter)Monthly plan (Starter); billing basis per call or minute not checkedNo free planNot verified; confirm with the vendor2026-10-16
ReturnCall.aiAI receptionist for Canadian trades and service businesses (answers 24/7, books jobs, gives price-range quotes from your pricebook)CAD $124/mo billed annually (Starter, ~150 calls; monthly-billed price not listed)Monthly plan with included calls (~150 on Starter); ~$1.50 per extra call; price shown is billed annuallyNo free plan; 14-day free trialYes: built in Canada, priced in CAD; servers in the United States per its FAQ2026-10-19
Ruby ReceptionistsLive virtual receptionists$143/mo (Live chat, 10 chats) or $250/mo (receptionist, 50 min), billed monthlyPer plan: receptionist plan includes 50 minutes; chat plan includes 10 chatsNo free planNot verified; confirm with the vendor2026-10-16
Smith.aiAI + human virtual receptionists and chat$300/mo billed monthly (Starter, 30 calls)Monthly plan with included calls (30 on Starter)No free planNot verified; confirm with the vendor2026-10-16

Pick order: fit for local service businesses first, then published (verified) price, then lowest starting price. Currencies differ (ReturnCall.ai is in CAD; Upfirst states USD; other pages show only a $ sign), so confirm the currency and billing period on each vendor's pricing page.

How to choose

Start with your own numbers, not a vendor's estimate. Open your phone bill or call log for last month and count three things: calls you missed, calls that came in after hours, and calls that were from customers rather than spam. Those counts tell you which plan size to look at.

Also check how each tool bills (per call, per minute or a flat monthly plan), whether it books into your calendar, and whether there is a free trial. Forward only missed and after-hours calls at first; you can widen it later.

Set it up in 10 minutes

  1. Start a free trial where the vendor offers one and enter your business name, hours, services and common questions.
  2. Get the number the service gives you for forwarded calls.
  3. On your carrier account or phone settings, set up conditional call forwarding (often called forward when busy or no answer) to that number. Carriers use different menus and dial codes, so follow your carrier's instructions.
  4. Call your business number from another phone and let it ring through. Check the greeting, the message the service takes and the summary it sends you.
  5. Review the first week of calls and adjust the instructions.

Canada and US notes

Tell callers the call may be recorded. Most of these tools record and transcribe calls, so say so in the greeting. In the US, recording laws vary by state and some states require everyone on the call to agree. In Canada, privacy law (PIPEDA) generally expects you to tell people when you collect their personal information. Check with a lawyer or your provider for your situation.

Follow-up texts need consent. In Canada, a text or email that promotes your business is generally a commercial electronic message under CASL, which requires consent, clear identification of who is sending it and a working unsubscribe. In the US, the TCPA generally requires prior consent for marketing texts and auto-dialled calls, and carriers and states add rules. Whether a reply to someone who just called you needs more than that depends on the message and your jurisdiction, so check with a lawyer.

Picks and setup

Upfirst affiliate

AI receptionist priced by call volume that answers 24/7, books appointments and texts you call summaries

Price: No free plan (14-day free trial, no credit card); paid from $24.95/mo billed monthly (Starter, 30 calls; $20/mo billed annually; USD) · pricing page

  1. Start the 14-day free trial
  2. Set your business info, FAQs and when it should answer
  3. Forward missed or after-hours calls to your Upfirst number
  4. Check the call summaries and adjust the instructions
Upfirst's site does not say which countries it supports, so confirm Canadian phone-number support with the vendor. Canada: commercial emails/texts must follow CASL (consent + unsubscribe). Tell callers calls may be recorded.
Recording laws vary by state, and some require all parties to consent. Get consent before recording.

Rosie affiliate

AI answering service for small businesses that answers calls, books appointments and texts you the details

Price: No free plan (7-day free trial); paid from $49/mo (Professional, 250 minutes; monthly or annual billing; currency not stated on page) · pricing page

  1. Start the 7-day free trial
  2. Add your business hours, services and FAQs
  3. Forward missed or after-hours calls to your Rosie number
  4. Review call summaries and recordings, then refine
Rosie describes its service for US small and medium businesses, so confirm Canadian numbers and callers with the vendor first. Canada: commercial emails/texts must follow CASL (consent + unsubscribe). Tell callers calls may be recorded.
Recording laws vary by state, and some require all parties to consent. Get consent before recording.

Goodcall

AI phone agent that answers calls and books appointments

Price: No free plan (free demo agent); paid from $79/mo (Starter) · pricing page

  1. Sign up
  2. Connect Google Business Profile/calendar
  3. Train on FAQs
  4. Forward missed calls
Recording laws vary by state, and some require all parties to consent. Get consent before recording.

ReturnCall.ai

AI receptionist for Canadian trades and service businesses (answers 24/7, books jobs, gives price-range quotes from your pricebook)

Price: No free plan (14-day free trial); paid from CAD $124/mo billed annually (Starter, ~150 calls; monthly-billed price not listed) · pricing page

  1. Start the 14-day free trial
  2. Enter your services, pricebook and calendar
  3. Forward missed or after-hours calls to your ReturnCall.ai number
  4. Review the SMS summaries and call recordings
Canadian vendor (Ontario) priced in CAD; it says call-recording disclosure is built into every call and that its servers are in the United States. Canada: commercial emails/texts must follow CASL (consent + unsubscribe).
Recording laws vary by state, and some require all parties to consent. Get consent before recording.

Ruby Receptionists

Live virtual receptionists

Price: No free plan listed; paid from $143/mo (Live chat, 10 chats) or $250/mo (receptionist, 50 min), billed monthly · pricing page

  1. Choose plan
  2. Set greetings and routing
  3. Forward calls
  4. Use app for messages
Recording laws vary by state, and some require all parties to consent. Get consent before recording.

Smith.ai

AI + human virtual receptionists and chat

Price: No free plan; paid from $300/mo billed monthly (Starter, 30 calls) · pricing page

  1. Sign up
  2. Write call-handling instructions
  3. Forward your line
  4. Review call logs
Email: CAN-SPAM requires accurate sender info and a working opt-out. Texting or auto-dialled calls to consumers: the TCPA generally requires prior consent, and carriers and states add rules. Confirm with your broker or counsel. Recording laws vary by state, and some require all parties to consent. Get consent before recording.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best AI receptionist for a small business?

In our database, Upfirst (AI receptionist priced by call volume that answers 24/7, books appointments and texts you call summaries) is listed first (we order by fit for local service businesses, then published price, then lowest starting price); the other tools in the table are alternatives. Count your missed calls first, then compare included calls or minutes and overage charges.

How much does an AI answering service cost?

Starting prices from our last check: Upfirst: $24.95/mo billed monthly (Starter, 30 calls; $20/mo billed annually; USD) (checked 2026-10-19); Rosie: $49/mo (Professional, 250 minutes; monthly or annual billing; currency not stated on page) (checked 2026-10-19); Goodcall: $79/mo (Starter) (checked 2026-10-16); ReturnCall.ai: CAD $124/mo billed annually (Starter, ~150 calls; monthly-billed price not listed) (checked 2026-10-19); Ruby Receptionists: $143/mo (Live chat, 10 chats) or $250/mo (receptionist, 50 min), billed monthly (checked 2026-10-16); Smith.ai: $300/mo billed monthly (Starter, 30 calls) (checked 2026-10-16). Plans, billing periods and currencies differ, so confirm on the vendor's pricing page before you buy.

Is there a free trial for AI answering services?

Among the picks, Upfirst: No free plan; 14-day free trial; Rosie: No free plan; 7-day free trial; ReturnCall.ai: No free plan; 14-day free trial. Confirm the current terms on the vendor's pricing page.

Is there an AI answering service that works in Canada?

ReturnCall.ai describes itself as an AI receptionist for Canadian service businesses and prices in CAD. Rosie describes a service for US businesses, and the other vendors' pages we checked do not state Canadian availability, so confirm Canadian numbers and callers with the vendor before you sign up.

Do I need to tell callers I record calls or send follow-up texts?

Generally yes to both: tell callers a call may be recorded, and get the right consent before marketing texts (CASL in Canada, the TCPA in the US). This is general information, not legal advice, so check with a lawyer or your provider.

Generated from the PickMyStack tool database. Always confirm current pricing on the vendor site. This guide is general information, not legal advice. Some links are affiliate links and are labelled; read the disclosure.